Pie and Chips.. A meal fit for a King!

Posted: June 3, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It was dead weird when I got home from giving Regal away.   I sat in my bedroom and stared at the spot on my bed where he usually slept.    It was dead gutting!   But I still knew it was for the best.  He’d be happy with Ray, and Bubonic Binny couldn’t get his dirty hands on him.

Talking of Bubonic Binny.. I hadn’t seen him for a few days.   Me ma called me downstairs; she was making the tea in the kitchen…MAKING  THE TEA!  That might sound normal to you, but it sounded like a bleedin’ miracle to me!

‘I’m cooking pie and chips’, she said.  PIE AND CHIPS!  I hadn’t seen her standing next to the cooker since I was about 6 years old (unless it was to light her ciggy on the gas!).  All right, the pie was from a packet, and chips were the ones you put straight in the oven from frozen.  But still… PIE AND CHIPS!   I must have looked absolutely gobsmacked.   

‘Sit down’ she said.  I turned to the table and found TOMATO SAUCE in the middle of it.   What’s going on here then, I thought.  PIE, CHIPS AND TOMATO SAUCE!   F&cking Fantastic!!!!

As I sat at the table and tucked in, she sat and ate with me.. almost like a real mother!    Although she barely touched her food.  She’s not one for eating is me ma.   Give her a bottle  of whiskey or a litre of cider, and she could polish it off in no time.. but food?  Nooo, she thinks there’s better things money can be spent on.

I suddenly remembered about that footstool I pulled off the skip the other week, I thought this was the perfect time to give it to her – while she was in a nice mood, and there was no sign of Binny.

I ran upstairs and brought the brown leather footstool down.. it looked brand new.    By this time me ma was sitting in the living room watching Coronation Street, just like a normal ma!  

‘I’ve got this for you’, I said, a massive beam across my face.

She sat up, puzzled.   ‘What is it?’

‘It’s a footstool.. you put your feet on it!’   I took it over to her and put it in front of her legs.

‘Did you rob it?’ 

‘No!’ I said.   It’s a prezzy for you! Brand new and everything.   I lifted her legs off the floor and put them gently on the cushiony leather top.   ‘See’! I said,  ‘dead posh isn’t it!  Bet the queen uses one!’

Me ma looked across at her white mottled, skinny legs stretched out on the footstool.   At first I wasn’t sure what she thought, but then she suddenly gave this huge smile.. A real smile.   She almost looked pretty.  It warmed my heart and made my eyes sting.

‘Thank you sweetheart… it’s lovely!’

Oh my God, my eyes were going again… this bleedin’ Mersey breeze plays havoc with them, even where you’re in the house with the windows shut! I didn’t want her to see me crying, so I smiled and bent down, kissing her gently on her cheek and quickly disappeared back to my bedroom. 

Everything would be perfect now if I only had Regal by my side, and Binny was really drinking the silt from the Mersey bed!

Hope you’re happy in your new home, Regal.  I’m thinking about you…

Comments
  1. Richard Barclay says:

    Jill. This story is brilliant. I hope Anthony makes a reappearance soon too! x

    • scousepov says:

      Thanks Richard! I’m really glad you’re enjoying it.
      Funny you should mention Anthony… I do have future plans for him in Tommy’s life 😉

Leave a Reply

