You should have seen the state of my face! I’d have looked better if a tractor had run over it, and then reversed back over it with a plough attached!  I look a lot better now… as long as I don’t open my gob.    It’s dead hard to talk without showing my teeth!

I went to school for the first time today since it happened.   Didn’t want to miss too much, and was fed up with sitting on the dock and not talking to no one.   I didn’t even go and walk Regal on Sunday ’cause I didn’t want Ray to see my face… and Regal always makes me laugh, so it would have been a dead giveaway.

I don’t smile much at school, so I knew I’d be able to get away with it.   And Penny Salerno is off with the flu, so at least I won’t have to smile at her, and she won’t see what a state the inside of my mouth is in.

Thing is…. Teeth don’t grow back do they?  Well not your second lot anyway.    So I need to see a dentist, but I haven’t got one.  One of the teeth that fell out has left a gaping hole the size of the Grand Canyon which has swollen right up like a pig’s foot! And I don’t mind telling you, it’s f&ckin’ killing me.   I can’t eat on one side of my mouth, and I can’t sleep with the pain.  I’ve been swigging on me ma’s whiskey (which she keeps hidden under the settee) just to ease the pain so I can sleep…… and let me tell you – it’s taking a lot of whiskey to knock me out!  But now I’m back at school I don’t want to get up with a hang over, so I’ve tried to cut it out.   I really do need to go to the dentist.

And me ma?   Well… she knows f&ck all about what she did.   And I think I’ve seen her about 3 times since she knocked me against the wall, and that was just to help her to bed when she comes in bladdered from the boozer after hours.  I’ve been helping her to bed and getting her coffee and water, but I can’t look at her in the face.. I still feel so mad.   I love her.. but I hate her.

Now to find a dentist.

 

Comments
  1. judithatwood says:

    It’s tragic, when someone you love can make you hate her so. Alcohol is a dangerous drug — I pity anyone who is addicted, but I feel more for the ones near the addict. Having to face that constant lying, mistreatment, wheedling, passive-aggressive bull is bad enough. When your mouth is so broken from an encounter that you can’t afford to smile…..I hope you find the dentist you need,

    • scousepov says:

      Hey it’s not so easy to find a National Health Service dentist in the UK if you haven’t already got one.. many are private now – so that’s the next big challenge for Tommy 🙂

      • judithatwood says:

        I’ve been going through the same thing here — I had to let my teeth get bad enough that the doctor considered them in need of emergency dentistry before I could get any assistance at all. Good luck, Tommy. I hope an answer presents itself soon!

Leave a Reply

